Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Tracy Wins Two Awards at 2011 AIFD Student Competition

IMG_5382 floral napkin design by Tracy Lou

Congratulations to the ultra-talented Tracy Lou, representing College of San Mateo, for winning not one, but two awards in the 2011 AIFD Student Design Competition.

Competing is a nerve-wracking experience. Each student is given materials they have not seen before they enter the venue. After a few minutes of planning and sketching, they are given approximately an hour to complete their design. They are judged on the strength of the design, the use of materials, and their workmanship.

In the Napkin Decor Design category, "the competitors are asked to make two identical napkin decorations with fresh floral/foliage accenting. Duplication accuracy is a part of the point structure for just this category"*. Tracy placed second with her napkin design featuring an intricate use of bear grass and deco wire:

IMG_5381 napkin design by Tracy Lou

...and third in Sweetheart Table Design:

IMG_5389 Tracy Lou sweetheart table design

College of San Mateo's capable coach was Wendy Pine AIFD, who won the top prize when she competed in the student competition. 

Tracy did not win in the bouquet category, but I thought her entry was impressive. I loved the beautiful lines she created by wiring the equisetum and how the tiny spray roses sheltered by the ti leaf invited closer inspection:

IMG_5394 Tracy Lou bouquet and napkin designs

Other College of San  Mateo students turned in beautiful designs.

IMG_5402 Shannon student competition designs

I thought Shannon's napkin design was beautifully balanced and airy:

IMG_5403 Shannon napkin ring design

Victor's dynamic, asymmetric bouquet was my favorite of his four entries:

IMG_5404 Victor student competition

...and I loved the dramatic lines in Kim's tall buffet design in monochromatic green:

IMG_5415 Kim student competition

There were other wonderful CSM student entries, but I regret that those photos did not turn out. 

Over fifty students competed and fifteen awards were given this year. See all results here.
*Competition guidelines here
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...